Many people accept operating while intoxicated (OWI) charges without putting up a fight. Unfortunately, most of the accused have no idea of the penalties they will face when they plead guilty. However, this blog post will give you a good idea of the potential penalties you’ll face for a first-time driving while under the influence (DUI) charge in Michigan.
Penalties for a First-Time OWI
The following are possible penalties for a first-time OWI in Michigan as outlined here:
- $100 to $500 fine and one or more of the following: up to 93 days in jail, up to 360 hours of community service.
- Driver's license suspension for 30 days, followed by license restrictions for 150 days.
- Possible vehicle immobilization.
- Possible ignition interlock.
- Six points added to driving record.
A first-time Michigan OWI conviction could lead to more than three months of jail time for the accused. A three-month stint in jail could lead to serious vocational, familial, and emotional issues for the convicted. Unfortunately, a convict’s penalties are entirely up to the judge/jury on the case, which is why it’s important to hire experienced representation.
Ready to Defend Your Rights?
If you or a loved one is facing an OWI charge, you have the right to defend your case. Thankfully, you don’t have to rely on your own knowledge to fight for your rights. If you want experienced representation that knows how to win, White Law is more than ready to get to work on your case.
Call (517) 316-1195 now for a free consultation concerning your charges.