Driver’s Licence Restoration Attorneys
One of the most frustrating and socially debilitating penalties the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS) is the suspension of your driver’s license. Without your license, you cannot legally drive yourself anywhere, even to necessary locations such as your workplace. Doing so amounts to a criminal act and you could face additional penalties, including high fines and jail time.
Your license can be suspended for the following reasons:
- You are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI)
- You refused to take a chemical test after a DUI arrest.
- Your driving record accumulates too many points.
- You were convicted of a vehicle-related felony.
- You violated Michigan insurance laws.
Okemos Drivers License Restoration Lawyer Near Me (517) 316-1195
How to Protect Your Driving Privileges in Michigan
In order to stop the suspension of your license after one or more of the aforementioned conditions are met, you will need to request an administrative hearing within 90 days. At this hearing, which is entirely separate from any criminal trials you might be facing for relevant circumstances, you will need to argue to an administrative judge or panel why your license should not be suspended.
To help you build your argument and fight for your driving privileges, you should team up with White Law PLLC. Our Michigan driver’s license attorneys have more than 60 years of combined legal and trial experience we can utilize to advocate persuasively on your behalf.
Reinstatement After Suspension
Sometimes you will not react fast enough to schedule an administrative hearing. In other situations, the administrative judge or panel may not be swayed by your argument and elect to suspend your license. The typical suspension will last an entire year but if you have had violated insurance laws to warrant the suspension or revocation, it will last until a judge removes it.
To reinstate your license after a suspension, you will need to complete an Application for Driver’s License Reinstatement, prove that you have completed any sentencing related to your suspension, and pay a reinstatement fee. You may be expected to pay anywhere between $25 and $125 for your reinstatement fee.
For a free legal consultation with a drivers license restoration lawyer serving Okemos, call (517) 316-1195
How To Get Your License Back When The Suspension Period Is Over
If the time of the suspension has elapsed, all you need do is go to the Michigan Secretary of State branch that is nearest you. The officials there will need to see your social security number and another form of picture ID before you can apply. You may also need to pay a reinstatement fee depending on the reason for the suspension.
More Complicated Situations
If your driver’s license suspension owes to your refusal to take a breathalyzer or other chemical test during a DUI stop, or to a second DUI or drug-related driving offense, or to driving on a suspended license, then you will need the help of an Okemos criminal defense attorney. You will need to request a hearing before the Driver Assessment and Appeal Division of the Secretary of State’s office.
In the hearing, you will be required to present documentation that proves your sobriety. You will have to show that you have completely abstained from drugs and alcohol and will do so in the future.
The officials you present your case to will want to see letters of reference from treatment specialists and other trusted authorities who can confirm your sobriety.
You will need to present thorough documentation of your treatment history, including any instances of relapse, and you may be required to submit to a substance abuse evaluation prior to the hearing.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
How A Lawyer Can Help
You should not try to deal with this on your own. The state officials at your hearing will assess your case according to specific laws and regulations. You will need someone on your side who is just as familiar with the law.
Our Okemos criminal defense attorneys at White Law will ensure that you are well-prepared for the hearing. They will ask you specific questions about your conviction and license suspension. They will obtain police documents and take other measures that will provide insight into what the people reviewing your case will be looking at.
A lawyer can also expedite the assembly of the documentation required to prove your sobriety. Your lawyer will know the letter of the law, and they will be able to select the testimonials, reports, and evaluations that will be accepted by the Secretary of State’s office.
The main aim of your lawyer is to make the hearing go as smooth as possible. There should be no surprises, and you should be able to leave the hearing with your suspension lifted.
It is difficult to work, socialize, and live a normal life without driving. If you are ready to get back to living decently, an Okemos criminal defense attorney can work to help you get your license back. Call us today to explore your options.
Let Our Michigan Driver’s License Lawyers Fight For Your Future
Our Michigan driver’s license restoration lawyers believe that a person’s driving privileges should be protected from excessive or undue punishment.
You will find that our tenacity, know-how, and dedication are unmatched throughout Michigan. Based in Okemos, we are ready to help clients across Lansing, Ingham County, and anywhere in Michigan.