Insurance companies estimate that most drivers will get in about three accidents over their lives. Many of these will be minor. Many will not and will require expensive compensation. Insurance companies will try to pay you as little as possible, but we’ll make sure they pay what you’re owed.
If you need a car accident lawyer in Kentwood, MI, the team to call is White Law PLLC. We take an aggressive approach to personal injury representation. With over 30,000 clients and over $1 billion recovered so far, we feel confident about delivering a satisfying result to you.
First Actions After a Car Accident
The minimum things you need to do after a car accident are:
Report the Accident to the Police
Speaking with the police creates a record of what happened at the accident scene. It proves to the insurance company that an accident happened. If you were severely injured and taken directly to the hospital, the police may contact you during your recovery to get your side of the story.
See a Medical Professional As Soon as Possible After the Accident
Seeing a doctor as soon as possible shows that you were worried about your health. Your doctor can find any hidden injuries that post-accident adrenaline might conceal. Also, your medical record will serve as evidence that you were injured after your accident.
Report the Accident to Your Insurance Provider
Michigan is now a no-fault state since 2020, so when you make your claim, it will be through your own insurance. Most insurance companies require policyholders to contact them after an accident so that they can prepare for your claim. Be factual about what happened, but do not give a recorded statement or access to your medical records before speaking with a lawyer.
Call an Auto Accident Lawyer for Legal Advice
Finally, calling a car accident attorney in Kentwood, MI, will protect you from the tactics of the insurance companies and increase your chances of high compensation. Also, should your injuries be severe enough, they can help you file a fault claim against the other driver’s insurance.
Kentwood Car Accident Lawyer Near Me (517) 316-1195
Personal Injury Protection Minimums
Michigan requires all car drivers to carry no-fault automobile insurance, also called PIP insurance. Unlike many other states, the default option is an unlimited coverage limit policy. You can purchase smaller limits, though you may need to meet certain requirements for health insurance to do so.
If you have health insurance, your car insurance agent may try to push a lower policy in your direction to save money, but consider this carefully before you do. Sticking with the unlimited policy is the best way to protect yourself in a car accident.
Along with PIP, Michigan insurance requires property protection coverage for other people’s property (up to $1 million in damages), along with residual liability insurance. This covers several situations that aren’t covered by PIP. You can get full details from the Michigan DIFS.
For a free legal consultation with a car accidents lawyer serving Kentwood, call (517) 316-1195
How Does a Car Accident Attorney Help in a No-Fault State?
It is not a requirement to use a lawyer to help you file a no-fault claim in Michigan. However, navigating the process can be complicated, and your insurance company will use every loophole they can to lower your claim amount. Finding all the information they want can be difficult for an injured person.
There’s also a chance that your insurance company may try to use your own words against you to lower your claim amount. If you and your insurance company disagree, you may need a Kentwood car accident attorney to negotiate on your behalf.
Finally, if the other driver’s insurance company contacts you, do not deal directly with them. You and your compensation are in legal jeopardy if that happens. They will try to claim you are at fault, and you will need a lawyer to fight back against those accusations.
Click to contact our Michigan Car Accident Lawyers today
When Can I Sue the Other Driver?
In cases of catastrophic injury, your own PIP insurance may not be enough. You may need to sue the other driver. There are three things that must be proven to do this:
- The other driver must be at least 50% responsible for the accident
- You must have insurance on your own vehicle (does not apply for bicyclists or pedestrian accidents)
- Your injury caused a serious disability, disfigurement, neurological injury, or death.
Recent case law in Michigan suggests your injuries do not have to be permanent to qualify. However, they have to alter the way you live your life. For example, if you cannot return to the career you had before because of your accident, that may qualify.
A conversation with an experienced car wreck lawyer can reveal whether your case qualifies for a claim against the other driver’s insurance.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Work With our Car Accident Attorneys in Kentwood, MI
Learn more about our car accident practice and how we can help you make your no-fault claim or see if you qualify for an at-fault claim. One phone call will reveal your legal options. Contact White Law PLLC, for a free consultation about your auto wreck. Our Kentwood car accident lawyers look forward to representing you.
Call or text (517) 316-1195 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form