There are many critical actions to take immediately following a car accident in Michigan. As a Marquette auto accident attorney, we give the following advice to our clients:
- Get medical help right away
- Report and record your injuries
- Never make statements with insurance companies or sign any releases
- Apply for benefits without fault
- Take a copy of your police report with you
- Keep all scheduled medical visits
- Maintain duplicates of records
The actions you can take to improve your personal injury claim and increase the potential settlement amount are not limited to those on this list. After consulting with one of the personal injury lawyers at White Law PLLC, we aim to gain your confidence in our ability to stand up for you and obtain fair compensation.
Should I Report My Car Accident to the Police?
The assistance of the police might not be required following a minor motor vehicle accident with no injuries. However, Michigan Statute 257.622 mandates it if there has been an injury or significant property damage. You can decide whether to report minor incidents to the police, but doing so will be helpful if you ever need to make an insurance claim.
Marquette Car Accident Lawyer Near Me (517) 316-1195
What Damages Can I Collect After a Car Accident in Michigan?
You may be eligible for damages if you suffer injuries in a car accident that was caused by another person’s negligence. You can obtain economic and non-economic compensation for:
- Medical bills
- Pain and suffering
- Emotional distress and mental anguish
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Loss of earning capacity
- Loss of consortium
- Property loss
If there are additional accident-related expenses that you are seeking compensation for, keep a record of them and submit them to your Marquette, MI car wreck attorney to include them in your final settlement request.
For a free legal consultation with a car accidents lawyer serving Marquette, call (517) 316-1195
When You Are Partially Responsible for a Car Accident
You might not get as much compensation for an accident for which you share some of the blame as you would have if you had nothing to do with it. Depending on your degree of fault, Michigan law allows for the reduction or prohibition of your damages.
Your damages award may be lowered in proportion to your share of the blame for an accident if you contributed to its cause. For instance, you could be compensated for 60 percent of your damages if the other motorist was 60 percent at blame and you were 40 percent at fault.
Simply put, the injured party will still be entitled to a portion of the damages even if they are found partially at fault.
Click to contact our Michigan Car Accident Lawyers today
How do Insurance Companies Handle Auto Claim Settlements?
Usually, after sending a demand letter, insurance companies enter into negotiations with a claimant to resolve vehicle claims. As for-profit businesses, insurers will want to settle disputes as inexpensively as possible.
The initial offer a victim receives could be drastically inadequate for their requirements. Despite their friendliness, the insurance adjuster is not on your side, so you should be ready to engage in a negotiation process. You might need your car wreck lawyer to initiate a lawsuit if negotiations are unsuccessful.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Timeframe to Resolve Your Personal Injury Claim
A few weeks may be enough time to resolve some personal injury cases. On the other hand, reaching a settlement agreement or taking the issue to trial may take months or even years. The resolution of certain complicated disputes has an unpredictable timeline.
The decision to accept a settlement offer prior to your case going to trial will have a significant impact on how quickly your Michigan personal injury claim is resolved. Because the entire degree of the injuries may not be immediately understood, cases involving serious personal injuries will likely submit a “motion to dismiss” if you attempt to file your personal injury case after the deadline. The court will usually dismiss your lawsuit unless a rare exemption gives you more time.
When Should I Consult With a Car Accident Lawyer?
Contact an experienced Michigan car accident attorney today for a free consultation if you have any questions about what to do following a car accident in Michigan or about your legal rights to pain and suffering compensation, economic losses, or no-fault auto insurance benefits.
Our automobile accident attorneys in Marquette are available at any time to go over the specifics of your case. White Law PLLC is here for you if you require comprehensive legal assistance that will speak to the insurance companies on your behalf, get in touch with witnesses, and promptly file your claim.
Call or text (517) 316-1195 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form