Second OWI in Michigan
No one ever thinks they will be in the same position they swore they would never find themselves again. Unfortunately, we all make mistakes—even the same ones. A second OWI arrest means you will face even more severe penalties compared to the first time around.
At White Law PLLC, our Okemos second OWI attorney can help you navigate the additional complexities that accompany a repeat offense and guide you through the criminal justice process to get the results you want. Let us develop a strong and personalized defense strategy to either get your entire case dismissed or your charges reduced.
Okemos Second Operating While Intoxicated Lawyer Near Me (517) 316-1195
Penalties for Repeat OWI Offenders
Legally speaking, a second OWI offense means a second alcohol-related driving offense within seven years. If a prior conviction was even one day more than seven years before the most recent OWI arrest, then it cannot be prosecuted as a second offense.
The following are the potential penalties for a second-time OWI in Michigan:
- Maximum jail sentence of one year (with a mandatory minimum of five days)
- Fines of up to $1,000
- License suspension of up to five years (with a minimum of one year)
- Up to 90 days of community service
- License plate confiscation
- Possible vehicle forfeiture
- Six points on the driving record
- $1,000 Driving Responsibility Fee for two consecutive years
For a free legal consultation with a second operating while intoxicated lawyer serving Okemos, call (517) 316-1195
Let Us Protect Your Rights & Future Immediately
Our Okemos second OWI lawyers can thoroughly evaluate your case and determine all of your available options to get the most favorable outcome possible. We offer you our experienced legal support from start to finish.