Fighting Operating While Intoxicated Charges in Michigan
Getting an OWI for the first time is a frightening and stressful experience. Drunk driving is associated with serious penalties such as jail time, fines, and license suspension. Fortunately, you have a chance to either get your case dismissed entirely or lessen the penalties you face with the help of an experienced operating while intoxicated lawyer.
At White Law PLLC, we are committed to protecting your rights and future. With more than six decades of combined legal experience, our Okemos criminal defense attorneys understand what it takes to obtain the most favorable results possible for our clients. Let us help you get your life back on track immediately.
Your Fight Is Our Fight
Penalties for First-Time OWI in Michigan
Similar to all states, Michigan has established legal limits for alcohol consumption and operating a vehicle. For drivers over the age of 21, the BAC limit is .08. This means that a motorist who is found to be driving with a BAC of .08 or higher may be charged with an OWI.
A first-time OWI in Michigan is a misdemeanor, punishable by the following:
- A maximum jail sentence of 93 days
- Fines of up to $500
- Up to 360 hours of community service
- License suspension for up to six months
- Possible ignition interlock
- Six points added to driver record
We’re not just lawyers. We’re passionate advocates who will ensure that your voice is heard and your rights are protected.
Let Our Award-Winning Legal Team Fight for You Now!
Our Okemos operating while intoxicated lawyers have been recognized as National Trial Lawyers: Top 100 in Michigan due to our successful results and unwavering commitment to client satisfaction. We can investigate your arrest, examine all of the evidence, and build an effective and personalized defense strategy on your behalf. Do not risk facing these serious charges without skilled and reputable legal counsel.
We’re Experienced. We Care.
We Exceed Client Expectations.