Okemos Assault Attorneys
Prepared to Handle Any Legal Challenge in Lansing & Across the U.S.
At White Law PLLC, our Okemos assault attorneys have 60+ years of combined experience fighting for the rights of those arrested and charged for serious crimes. If you have been accused of committing assault in Lansing or anywhere in the U.S., our legal professionals have the knowledge, skills, and resources to defend against conviction and minimize the penalties you face.
Begin your journey by scheduling a free consultation with our Okemos assault lawyers. We can take the necessary time to adequately analyze your case and help you make an informed decision about which legal path to take. Regardless of the specific details of your case, our team can help you build a solid defense strategy that is tailored to your particular situation.
Understanding Assault Charges in Michigan
In Michigan, assault crimes are among the most common causes of arrest. Even the smallest fight can result in assault charges.
There are two types of assault that are charged as misdemeanors: simple assault and aggravated assault. Simple assault involves intentionally threatening or causing injury to another person. A person is charged with aggravated assault when the assault results in serious physical injuries. To qualify as aggravated assault, the victim’s injuries must require immediate medical treatment or cause disfigurement, impairment of health, or impairment of a body part.
The penalties for each type of misdemeanor assault include:
- Simple assault – up to 93 days in jail and a maximum fine of $500
- Aggravated assault – a maximum jail sentence of four years and a fine of up to $2,000
When the offender uses a deadly weapon, such as a gun, knife, or brass knuckles, to carry out the assault, the result is felonious assault. The act of pointing a gun or a knife at someone in such a way that they believe the weapon could harm them can also be charged as a felony.
Felonious assault carries the harshest penalties, including:
- Up to four years in jail
- A maximum fine of $6,000
- Community service for up to 150 hours
Assault & Battery: Two Separate Crimes
In Michigan, assault is defined as an attempt to cause physical injury or threat of action, such as brandishing a weapon or raising a fist, on another individual. If an offender appears to possess the ability to make threats and the action reasonably causes another person to feel afraid of impending violence, the act is considered an assault.
On the other hand, battery is the intentional infliction of violence or force against another individual, such as punching another person or striking someone with an object. The state law categorizes these criminal offenses as assault and “assault and battery” since battery is viewed as the completion of a violent process according to the law.
Penalties for Assault or Assault & Battery in Michigan
Assault or assault and battery committed without a dangerous weapon is classified as a misdemeanor, with the exception of domestic violence cases and offenses involving police officers or emergency medical personnel as victims. Simple assault or assault and battery is punishable by a maximum jail sentence of 93 days, a fine of up to $500, two-year probation sentence, and restitution.
Assault and battery which results in serious injury is aggravated assault and battery. While it is still considered a misdemeanor, aggravated assault is punishable by a maximum prison sentence of one year and a fine of up to $1,000.
The following are the types of felony assault crimes, along with the associated penalties:
- Assault with a dangerous weapon (without intending to cause death or great bodily harm) – Maximum prison sentence of four years and fines of up to $2,000
- Assault with intent to maim – Maximum prison sentence of 10 years and fines of up to $5,000
- Assault with intent to commit murder – Potential life sentence in prison
Fight to Protect Your Rights
When your freedom is in jeopardy, make sure you have our skilled Okemos assault attorneys on your side. White Law PLLC provides strong defense for those facing serious charges. Let us put our experience to work for you to protect your rights and your best interests.
Call (517) 316-1195 now to schedule your free case evaluation with one of our skilled Okemos assault lawyers.
People v. R.M. Homicide Charges Dismissed
Weapon Charge Court dismissed all charges
Weapon Charges Charges dismissed
Drug Felonies Charges dismissed
Felony Charge Charges dismissed
Felony Charges Charges dismissed
Malicious Destruction of Property Received a verdict of not guilty
Home Invasion First Charges dismissed
Criminal Sexual Conduct Negotiated non-sexual offense misdemeanor
Domestic Violence First Offense Case dismissed
Serving Clients Throughout Michigan & Nationwide
We've Successfully Resolved Thousands of Cases
We Never Back Down From a Challenge
We Use Cutting-Edge Technology
Experience Handling High-Profile Cases
Over 60 Years of Combined Legal Experience