Okemos Domestic Violence Lawyers
Fighting Domestic Violence Charges in Lansing & Across the U.S.
When many people hear the term “domestic violence,” their attention usually turns to the suffering of the victim. At White Law PLLC, we understand that the victim is not always the one making accusations. When people are wrongly accused, or their significant other exaggerates the situation to get what they want, the real victim is the alleged offender.
If you have been arrested and charged for domestic violence, you could be at risk of facing severe penalties that you do not deserve. You have the right to a fair trial, and our Okemos domestic violence attorneys can ensure that you get one. We have a strong track record of obtaining favorable results for our clients, and we are willing to do whatever it takes to protect your rights and freedom.
To get a high-powered Okemos domestic violence attorney in your corner, call 517-316-1195 today. We serve clients in Lansing and across the U.S.
What Constitutes Domestic Violence in Michigan?
If you ask someone what comes to mind when they think of domestic violence, they might describe a situation where a drunk husband angrily strikes his wife. However, there are many other possible situations that can be classified as domestic violence.
Domestic violence is when an individual habitually abuses another person in his or her household or family. The abuse can be either physical, sexual, or emotional.
To qualify as domestic abuse, the victim must be related to the alleged offender in one of the following ways:
- The defendant’s spouse or former spouse
- The alleged abuser’s children, stepchildren, or foster children
- The other parent of the defendant’s child
- A current or former resident of the alleged offender’s household
- A person who has dated the defendant
- The defendant’s parents, stepparents, or foster parents
Punishments for Domestic Violence
Due to the seriousness of the crime, domestic violence often carries severe penalties. First-time offenders are charged with a misdemeanor, which is punishable by a fine of up to $500, and a jail sentence of up to 93 days. A second offense can result in up to one year in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000. Third and subsequent convictions for domestic violence result in felony charges, which carry a maximum prison sentence of five years and a fine of up to $5,000.
Other consequences might include a restraining order, which limits your communication with the alleged victim and how close you can come to them. The disadvantages of having a domestic violence conviction on your criminal record can also extend to employment, schooling, and housing opportunities, making it difficult to get hired or accepted.
How to Handle Your Domestic Violence Charges
Since a domestic violence conviction can result in long-term, life-altering consequences, these charges should be treated seriously and handled aggressively. White Law PLLC is here to guide you through the legal process of defending against your charges.
People v. R.M. Homicide Charges Dismissed
Weapon Charge Court dismissed all charges
Weapon Charges Charges dismissed
Drug Felonies Charges dismissed
Felony Charge Charges dismissed
Felony Charges Charges dismissed
Malicious Destruction of Property Received a verdict of not guilty
Home Invasion First Charges dismissed
Criminal Sexual Conduct Negotiated non-sexual offense misdemeanor
Domestic Violence First Offense Case dismissed
Serving Clients Throughout Michigan & Nationwide
We've Successfully Resolved Thousands of Cases
We Never Back Down From a Challenge
We Use Cutting-Edge Technology
Experience Handling High-Profile Cases
Over 60 Years of Combined Legal Experience