It’s been a little over five years since Michigan’s “Super Drunk” Driving Law took effect. The law specifically targets drivers with a blood alcohol content (“BAC”) of 0.17 or higher. Thus, the law aims to deter extremely intoxicated individuals from getting behind the wheel by imposing harsher punishments than a “standard” drunk driving charge—where the operator’s BAC is between 0.08 to 0.16.
If convicted under Michigan’s “Super Drunk” law, drivers can face up to 180 days in jail. Since a “standard” drunk driving conviction carries a maximum possible jail sentence of 93 days, a “Super Drunk” conviction is almost double the jail time.
In addition, “Super Drunk” drivers face a mandatory 45 day suspension of their driver’s license followed by one year with a restricted license. The penalties for a “Super Drunk” conviction are not just limited to jail time and driver’s license sanctions; there will almost always be court-ordered participation in a substance abuse program, attendance at Alcoholic’s Anonymous meetings, probation, the required use of ignition interlock device in your vehicle, and hefty fines in excess of thousands of dollars.
Further, insurance providers can charge higher premiums if they find out that an individual has been convicted under Michigan’s Super Drunk Driving Law, or even drop a driver’s coverage entirely in some cases. As with any criminal charge, employers will be able to discover your past criminal history, which can lead to extreme hardship in seeking employment.
In short, life becomes very challenging for individuals convicted as a “Super Drunk” driver. If you or someone you know has been charged as “Super Drunk, it is extremely important that you contact an experienced attorney in order to ensure the best possible outcome. Our attorneys at White Law PLLC have years of valuable experience aggressively defending clients charged with OWI’s and DUI’s in Michigan.
Contact us today at (517) 774-2274 for a free 30 minute consultation regarding your case.