Concealed Pistol License in Michigan

Concealed Pistol License in Michigan

The U.S. may soon offer reciprocity among states for concealed carry permits. Find out about the requirements for a Concealed Pistol License in Michigan.

Over the course of the presidential election season there were a number of well-spirited debates about citizens and their gun rights. Now that president-elect Trump, a gun rights proponent, will take the Oval Office in January, new restrictions on gun ownership are unlikely. In fact, Mr. Trump has already discussed having passing a national concealed carry reciprocity law that would allow gun owners to concealed carry in all fifty states. At present, one of the potential problems for those seeking to concealed carry is that each state has different standards for who can receive a concealed carry permit. While the reciprocity issue is tabled for the future, Michigan residents may want to get their Concealed Pistol License (CPL) now in preparation for the laws to come.

In Michigan, the very basic requirements to receive a CPL are the applicant has to:

  • Be twenty-one years old
  • Be a citizen of the United States, and
  • Be a resident of Michigan, which are similar to the requirements for receiving a driver’s license.

However, the state will not just give applicants a CPL simply because they fit this description. Applicants must also complete a gun safety course. The course consists of at least eight hours of instructional training with three hours of shooting time on a range. Michigan provides a list of certified courses for applicants to choose from on the state’s website. . There are also restrictions based on the applicant’s criminal history and mental health. For example, a prior felony conviction disqualifies an individual from receiving a CPL. An applicant must also get fingerprinted, which comes with its own set of fees. In the end, the total cost to receive a CPL will be around $250-$300.

Gun owners must apply for a CPL in the county they live in. If your application is approved, you should receive your CPL within forty-five days. If you have any questions about the scope of your CPL rights or if you have been denied your CPL, contact the attorneys at White Law PLLC for a free consultation of your legal rights.

Categories:

Contact Us Today!

All Consultations are Free and Confidential
    • Please enter your first name.
    • Please enter your last name.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.