Like most states, Michigan defines drunk driving as any motorist with a BAC of .08 percent or higher. Additionally, Michigan also has laws regarding drivers with certain illegal drugs in their system—including marijuana.
If you drive and get arrested for having drugs like marijuana in your system, it is critical to understand that there are no devices available to measure the amount of narcotic in your body. Therefore, a prosecutor does not have to prove that you were impaired—just that you were driving with marijuana in your system.
Penalties for Drugged Driving
The penalties for a first-time drugged driving offense is similar to first-time OWI. A first-time offense is punishable by a maximum jail sentence of 93 days, fines of up to $500, license suspension for up to six months, and six points added to your driving record.
Defending Your Michigan Drugged Driving Charge
If you’re facing a drugged driving charge in Michigan, you face severe consequences if convicted. Depending on the circumstances of your case, there are several defense strategies your criminal defense lawyer can use to obtain the best results possible.
Common defenses for drugged driving include:
- Challenging the results of blood or urine tests
- Challenging the administration of chemical tests
- Challenging the legitimacy of a search warrant used to force a sample from you, or the lack of a warrant
- Challenging whether law enforcement had legitimate reasons or probable cause for your traffic stop or your arrest
- Challenging whether police followed proper protocol when you were arrested
If you were arrested for driving under the influence of marijuana, contact our Okemos criminal defense attorneys at White Law PLLC and request a free consultation today. Get more than 20 years of collective legal experience on your side!