According to the Constitution of Michigan of 1963, “Every person has a right to keep and bear arms for the defense of himself and the state.” The following blog post is an overview of the Michigan gun laws.
Q: What is the age requirement for purchasing a firearm in Michigan?
A: Adults who are at least 18 years of age can buy a handgun from a private seller with a purchase license and buy a long gun from a Federally licensed (FFL) dealer or private seller. Adults who are at least 21 years old can buy a firearm from an FFL dealer.
Q: Is concealed carry legal in Michigan?
A: Yes. Michigan is considered a “shall issue” state, which means a person who is at least 21 years of age—and a state resident for at least six months—may obtain a license to carry a concealed handgun—as long as the individual isn’t prohibited from owning a gun, has been convicted of a specific misdemeanor or felony charge within three or eight years, has been diagnosed with a mental illness, is subject to a restraining order, and has received firearm training approved by the state.
Q: Where are places that concealed carry is off-limits?
A: Schools (although parents or legal guardians may carry while dropping off or picking up their children), colleges and dorms, daycare centers, courtrooms, sports stadiums, establishments that are dependent on alcohol sales, places of worship, an entertainment venue that seats at least 2,500 people, hospitals, and any other places that restrict carry based on federal laws.
On the other hand, you are allowed to carry a firearm at state parks and forests, national forests, rest areas, and inside the vehicles (if only you have a concealed carry license).
Q: Is open carry legal in Michigan?
A: Yes, but there are certain restrictions. If you do not have a concealed carry license, you cannot open carry at an establishment that sells alcohol or inside a vehicle. Additionally, your gun needs to be registered in your name to open carry.
Q: What happens if you carry a concealed firearm without a license?
A: If you carry a concealed weapon without a license outside your property, it is a felony offense that is punishable by a maximum five-year prison sentence and a fine no more than $2,500.
Q: What happens if you carry a concealed firearm while intoxicated?
A: According to Michigan law, a person who has a concealed carry license automatically consents to implied consent, similar to what happens when you obtain a driver’s license. If your blood alcohol content (BAC) level is between .02 and less than .08, you a subject to a maximum $100 fine and license revocation for up to one year. If your BAC level is between .08 and less than .10, it is a misdemeanor offense that carries a maximum 93-day jail term, a fine not exceeding $100, and license revocation of up to three years. If your BAC level is .10 or higher, it is a misdemeanor offense that is punishable by a jail term of up to 93 days, a maximum $100 fine, and permanent license revocation.
Q: What happens when a felon carries a firearm?
A: If a felon has possession of a firearm, he/she can be charged with a felony offense that carries a prison term of up to five years and a maximum $5,000 fine.