drunk in car with bottle by side

Can a Michigan DUI Attorney Help Me Keep My License?

The criminal offense known in many jurisdictions as driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) is referred to as operating while intoxicated (OWI) in Michigan. Just like most other states, Michigan will typically suspend or revoke the driving privileges of alleged offenders in these cases.

Any person who has recently been arrested for OWI in Michigan will want to quickly seek the help of an experienced Okemos criminal defense attorney. Depending on your circumstances, you could be able to appeal your suspension.

State law in Michigan provides that all drivers are deemed to have provided implied consent to being tested for blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) when they are suspected of DUI, which means that a person who refuses a test will immediately have their license suspended. This suspension is one year for a first refusal but can be up to two years for a second refusal within seven years of a previous refusal, and you only have 14 days to request an appeal.

First Offenders

A first OWI will typically result in a six-month suspension, and a person cannot seek a restricted license until they have served at least 30 days of that suspension. People who have BACs of 0.17 or higher can have their licenses suspended for as much as one year and cannot obtain a restricted license during the first 45 days of that period.

Repeat Offenders

People with multiple DUI convictions can have their licenses suspended for at least one year and depending on their situation, possibly longer. The suspension may be a minimum of five years when a driver had a previous revocation in the past seven years.

How an Experienced Michigan DUI Defense Attorney Can Help

You will want to have an Okemos criminal defense attorney for any driver's license revocation hearing, and a person will also want to have multiple letters from friends, family members, or coworkers. An individual will also need to submit to a 10-panel drug screen and a substance abuse evaluation.

Hearings operate somewhat similar to traditional trials with a hearing officer acting as a judge. You do not want to be attending a hearing on your own as the state is typically inclined to support the opinion of the arresting officer.

Many people may have to settle for restricted licenses that only allow for travel to and from work, and some individuals could also be required to install ignition interlock devices in all vehicles they own or operate.

However, you will have the best chance of getting the most favorable outcome in your case when you are working with a skilled criminal defense attorney. An experienced attorney will be able to show why a license suspension is not justified and will place undue hardship on your life.

Give our team a call today (517) 316-1195. Do not risk going to court by yourself and hoping for a prosecutor to show some kind of mercy.