A Michigan OWI conviction results in serious penalties. A first-time offense leads to a jail sentence of up to 93 days, fines no more than $500, and license suspension for up to 180 days. However, there are certain “aggravating circumstances” that can increase the penalties drunk driving suspects face.
The following are the most common aggravating factors of a Michigan OWI:
- High BAC – Individuals with a high blood alcohol content (BAC) of .17 percent or above are deemed “super drunk” in Michigan since the legal limit is only .08 percent. A conviction for a high-BAC OWI can lead to a maximum 180-day jail sentence, fines of up to $700, and driver’s license suspension for up to one year.
- Minor child in vehicle – When a passenger under at least 16 years of age is in the vehicle at the time of the OWI arrest, a conviction can result in a maximum one-year jail term, fines of up to $1,000, and even up to 90 days of community service.
- Driving with a suspended license – Losing the ability to drive after an OWI arrest can make it difficult to commute to work, attend classes, and make important appointments, which is why many people still risk driving with a suspended license. If you are caught driving with a suspended license, you will face separate charges in addition to the OWI charges.
- OWI causing injury – If you are involved in an accident while drunk driving, you may be charged with a felony if you caused the serious injury of another individual. This felony is punishable by a maximum five-year prison sentence and fines of up to $5,000.
- OWI causing death – If you are involved in an accident while drunk driving that resulted in another person’s death, you could be charged with a felony that carries a maximum 15-year prison term and fines of up to $10,000.
If you have been charged with an aggravated OWI in Okemos, contact White Law PLLC today at (517) 316-1195 and schedule a free case evaluation.