In Michigan, depending on the substance and the crime being committed, there are varying degrees of penalties you may face if convicted. Drugs are classified into schedules. The drug's schedule will depend on the amount of danger the drug presents to other people. The schedule will also outline what a law enforcement officer may charge you with as well as the legal consequences you may face if convicted. Here’s what you should know about these penalties.
Legal Consequences for Drug Offenses
The possession of controlled substances is strictly prohibited in the state of Michigan. It is also illegal to be in possession of prescription drugs unless your physician has prescribed them to you specifically. These drugs may include, but are not limited to:
- Opioid-containing analgesics like Vicodin or Percocet.
- Benzodiazepines like Xanax or Valium.
- Stimulants like amphetamines or Ritalin.
Drugs listed under schedule 1 or schedule 2 classification are charged as felonies. The penalties include the following:
- A maximum sentence of life in prison and a possible fine in addition to the prison sentence of no more than $1 million. The amount of drugs would need to be up to 1,000 grams.
- A maximum sentence of 30 years in prison and a possible fine of not more than $500,000 may be ordered if the substance is between 450 grams and 1,000 grams.
- A maximum sentence of 20 years in prison and a possible fine of up to $250,000 for a substance between 450 grams and 50 grams.
- A maximum sentence of 4 years in prison and a possible fine of up to $25,000 for a substance that is less than 50 grams.
Contact An Okemos Criminal Defense Attorney
If you or a loved one has been charged with a drug offense, it's imperative to talk to an Okemos criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. You shouldn't have to face the charges alone because doing so could result in penalties that you shouldn't have to pay.
Call White Law today (517) 316-1195; our team can help protect your rights.